S h o r t S t o r i e s

// Tales from software development

Dell Vostro 3700: Cannot connect to WiFi network on channel 13

with 3 comments

I’ve been having some problems with my SqueezeBox losing its WiFi connection on a regular basis so I had a look at the support forums and followed a recommendation to try a different WiFi channel in case there was interference from other 2.4Ghz devices.

I’ve used Channel 11 on every home WiFi station I’ve ever used as it seems to give a reliable and consistent performance but I followed the suggestion and re-configured my router/modem to use channel 13. The connection problem I’d been having on the SqueezeBox immediately went away but was replaced with a new one – my Dell Vostro 3700 laptop could no longer see the WiFi network.

After a bit of poking around I think I’ve found the answer and it’s not good. The driver for the built-in WiFi card (DW 1520 half-mini card) pre-installed when I bought the laptop in August 2010 has a ‘Location’ parameter that allows one value only: USA

Channel 13 is valid in Europe but not in the USA so this is likely to be why my WiFi network is no loger detected. I assumed that the USA-only driver was an early release and that an updated driver would be available from the Dell web site but the latest driver available is the same release: 5.60.18.8.

Written by Sea Monkey

January 5, 2011 at 8:00 am

Posted in Hardware, Uncategorized

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel you my friend .. i am facing the same issue .. i bought my AlienWare Laptop from U.S and right now i am in Malaysia where some of the Wireless broadcasts here are on channel 12 or 13 which the DW 1520 is not supporting .. i tied re-installing the driver from the Asia dell website and europe but still cant get rid of the USA location in the driver detail ..

    any luck with you ? i might go for a usb wifi if there was no solution to this DW 1520 driver.

    Cheers

    AJ

    July 26, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  2. Updated my driver of Dell Wireless 1490 Dual Adapter on Windows7 to version 5.30.21.0 and now it can detect and connect to channel 13.

    Zilvinas

    November 1, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  3. Donwload from Dell’s support website newest driver version for Dell Wireless 1390/1395/1490/1505 WLAN

    Zilvinas

    May 21, 2012 at 8:41 pm


Leave a Reply

