S h o r t S t o r i e s

// Tales from software development

audiobooks.com: a lesson in privacy invasion

leave a comment »

I’ve recently started getting unsolicited emails from Audiobooks.com. I’ve never purchased anything from them and haven’t bought an audio book for at least a couple of years. So, I assume they’re the kind of company that buys lists of email addresses from ‘providers’.

It’s bad enough getting spammed by this company but they really add insult to injury if you try to unsubscribe from their mailing list. First you get presented with this web page:

Ignoring the Your Name field I clicked the Send button only to get this:

Wonderful! A company that I’ve never heard of is sending me spam and is now insisting that I give them personal details before they’ll consider removing me from their email list ?

It’s difficult to understand the mindset of companies like this. How is this kind of behaviour going to do anything except alienate its potential customers ?

Written by Sea Monkey

March 17, 2010 at 8:00 am

Posted in Comment

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

