S h o r t S t o r i e s

// Tales from software development

Virtual Server 2005 R2 and Internet Explorer 8

with 2 comments

A couple of weeks ago I praised Microsoft for implementing a change in the .NET 3.5 SP1 framework that allows .NET executable assemblies to be run directly from a network share. I should have known I was tempting fate and sure enough a few days later I was shouting obscenities at the monitor of one of my servers because of a classic Microsoft cock-up.

The server in question is a dedicated VM host running Virtual Server 2005 R2 SP1 under Server 2008. Late last week Windows Update installed Internet Explorer 8. I didn’t notice any problems for a day or two because I was using another PC and Internet Explorer 7 to access the Virtual Server Administration Web Site. But on Wednesday afternoon I was doing some VM maintenance on the server using IE8 and the administration web site and I realised that all was not well. Clicking on the option to merge undo disks resulted in nothing. I tried a few other options like starting up a VM. Nothing. Then I noticed the error icon at the bottom left of the IE8 window and an error message: “Error on page”. 

I tried closing IE8 and restarting it with the same results. A quick search on Google revealed the answer – you need to enable IE8’s Compatibiilty Views feature for it to work with the Virtual Server Administration Web Site. Wonderful – Microsoft have managed to produce a version of Internet Explorer that isn’t even compatible, by default, with its own products.

Written by Sea Monkey

June 3, 2009 at 7:00 am

Posted in Comment

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was pulling my hair out on this one. Who would have thought!!!

    Thanks for posting this.

    Jeff

    July 17, 2009 at 5:56 pm

  2. Sea Monkey, Thanks much for sharing. This one had me chasing my tail for three days… Researching, reconfiguring, double-checking, reinstalling, searching the internet, scratching my head, sleeping on it… repeating the above. Then I found your tip. One simple mouse click and the world suddenly appears to me a little brighter. As Jeff said before me… Who would have thought!!! Thanks again.

    Bart

    January 25, 2010 at 5:21 pm


Leave a Reply

