S h o r t S t o r i e s

// Tales from software development

Fish and chips at the Lobster Pot

with one comment

The Lobster Pot, Provincetown, Cape Cod, MA, USA.I intended this blog to be about technical topics only but rules are there to be broken, so…

Last week I was in Boston and spent a few days in Provincetown on Cape Cod. This is my fourth visit over the past seven years and I knew that there weren’t going to be many restaurants open in late October, especially mid-week. Even so, I was surprised that the choice was limited to three on my first night and one on the second. I ended up at the Lobster Pot on both nights and it didn’t disappoint.

I first ate at the Lobster Pot in 2001 and remember the food as good rather than excellent. Maybe I didn’t choose the best from their menu then because the food last week was simply superb. On Tuesday night I chose the Grilled Tuna with Sauce Bernaise on Garlic Mashed Potatoes followed by the White Chocolate Banana Cheesecake. The main course was simple but very good. I overheard the pastry chef recommending the cheesecake to another customer and thought that I’d be foolish not to try his recommendation. It was about as good cheesecake gets – a ball of cheesecake covered in white chocolate on a cake base sitting in a caramelised banana syrup. The flavours were well balanced and, despite the description, it wasn’t too sweet or sickly.

On Wednesday night I had the Fish and Chips. After eating what I think was probably the best fish and chips I’ve ever been served, I was depressed to think that there is nothing that the Brits can teach Americans about cooking. The cod was so fresh that it simply melted in my mouth and the batter was light and not even slightly greasy.

Of course, I had the chocolate cheesecake again…

Written by Sea Monkey

November 6, 2008 at 8:00 pm

Posted in Comment

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’ll get fat… 😉

    Dave Williams

    November 6, 2008 at 9:30 pm


Leave a Reply

